What I’ve Learned

I haven’t officially been in the event business for very long, but I’m always taking notes. Below, I’ve compiled a short list of what I learned at my last internship. Through working under one of the Twin Cities premier event planners as well as attending networking events and weekly team meetings, I was always adding bullets to my notebook. Here are some of the most important and/or unexpected event tips I learned from my internship with LeadingAge Minnesota:

  • Only sign clean contracts
  • Beware of copyright trolls!
  • Always send email confirmations
  • Use 1 hashtag # per event
  • The trend is going towards informal & intimate
  • Always record what time vendors say they will show up

Currently, I am in the process of applying to and interviewing for fulltime work. If there is anything I have learned from that, it is to stay positive! It is so easy to get bogged down by rejection- or worse- never hearing back. I look to others I know who love their jobs and trust that I too will get there. My college advisor left me with the words that give me faith in my job hunt- “There are good jobs for good people”. With this in mind, I continue to forge the path of endless cover letters, thank you notes, reference building, resume editing and, of course, endless smiles 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

